Acknowledgement of Indigenous Peoples

The Town of Rocky Mountain House wishes to acknowledge that the land on which we gather is Treaty 6 Territory and a traditional meeting ground and home for many Indigenous Peoples, including the Blackfoot, Cree, Saulteaux, Stoney and Métis.

The Town of Rocky Mountain House adopted the above land acknowledgment in 2018, in consultation with local Indigenous residents. This land acknowledgment is now displayed prominently in all public Town facilities.

On June 21, 2021, the Town of Rocky Mountain House celebrated National Indigenous Peoples Day by raising Treaty 6 Territory and Métis flags at the Town Office.

These flags will fly permanently alongside the flags of Canada, Alberta and the Town, as a symbol of reconciliation and an inclusive community.

The raising of the Treaty 6 and Métis flags is a public and permanent recognition of the historical and current contributions to our community from the First Nation and Métis people, and the desire for continued and evolving partnerships to benefit all who reside within Treaty 6 Territory.